Appeal From Founder of “Wikipedia”

12/29/2009

Mr. Wales’ opinion speaks for itself.  I know that I consult this “People’s Encyclopedia” frequently, and so do you.  I think we ought to help Mr. Wales if or as we can.

RJR

An appeal from Wikipedia founder, Jimmy Wales

Today, I am asking you to make a donation to support Wikipedia.I started Wikipedia in 2001, and over the past eight years, I’ve been amazed and humbled to see hundreds of thousands of volunteers join with me to build the largest encyclopedia in human history.

Wikipedia isn’t a commercial website. It’s a community creation, entirely written and funded by people like you. More than 340 million people use Wikipedia every month – almost a third of the Internet-connected world. You are part of our community.

I believe in us. I believe that Wikipedia keeps getting better. That’s the whole idea. One person writes something, somebody improves it a little, and it keeps getting better, over time. If you find it useful today, imagine how much we can achieve together in 5, 10, 20 years.

Wikipedia is about the power of people like us to do extraordinary things. People like us write Wikipedia, one word at a time. People like us fund it. It’s proof of our collective potential to change the world.

We need to protect the space where this important work happens. We need to protect Wikipedia. We want to keep it free of charge and free of advertising. We want to keep it open – you can use the information in Wikipedia any way you want. We want to keep it growing – spreading knowledge everywhere, and inviting participation from everyone.

The Wikimedia Foundation is the non-profit organization I created in 2003 to operate, grow, nurture, and protect Wikipedia. For ten million US dollars a year and with a staff of fewer than 35 people, it runs the fifth most-read website in the entire world. I’m asking for your help so we can continue our work.

Imagine a world in which every single person on the planet has free access to the sum of all human knowledge. That’s where we’re headed. And with your help, we will get there.

Thank you for using Wikipedia. You’re part of this story: please make a donation today.

Jimmy Wales

Founder, Wikipedia

12 Responses to “Appeal From Founder of “Wikipedia””

  1. Forest Crump Says:

    I was just reading on Wikipedia this morning about Iambic pentameter, that stressed, unstressed syllable stuff does not apply to Southern dialect, we seem to stress the unstressed—don’t ask me why I was reading this, it’s a long story.

    Yes this is worth contributing to. I have seen some high-brow complaints about it but overall it is very useful sources of information and usually the articles have links to more detailed information if you desire it.

  2. Daryl Cobranchi Says:

    I find Wikipedia to be an invaluable resource and donate every year when they run the fund raising drive.

  3. Number Two Says:

    I just donated a couple of weeks ago. Even tho’ its inconsistencies are often pointed out, it is a treasure, and the nature of its origins is the beauty (and, yes, bedevilment) of this digital reference.

  4. SimRacer Says:

    I like Wiki. Use it all the time – likely at least briefly every day. And I do donate to them yearly…However, you have to use Wiki with an eye and ear out for inconsistent entries and entries that are just downright wrong.

    Consider entries with lots of references most reliable – be sure to click through those references if you genuinely need the data for presentation or to cite as a source. Some are slanted/biased to the max and their “facts” need to be taken with large doses of salt. Certainly when it comes to political “facts” about US pols past and present. Some are candy coated, others are white washed, while some border on pure fiction.

    The lack of stringent oversight of content accuracy is what is holding Wiki back from becoming the future’s Encyclopedia Brittanica.

  5. Raymond Rundus Says:

    Good observations all.

    Daryl Cobranchi: enjoyed and learned from your Op-Ed piece very recently.

    Forest: I hadn’t seen the observations about Southern dialect, its effect upon iambic pentameter, which is the standard for the heroic couplet primarily of the eighteenth century, the blank verse of many poets, and so on.
    Offhand, I don’t recall ever considering the effect of dialect upon the rhythmic constraints of a poem.

    RJR\Next posting will be about whether “creative writing” can be–or maybe even should be–taught.

  6. Dea Says:

    Even though all my professors have told me not to use Wikipedia for research I go on it anyways, then figure out which of the resources it lists are worth getting off my butt to go to the library for. Saves me a lot of time since I am not reading through books that end up being useless for my papers.

  7. Jeff Thompson Says:

    “…RJR\Next posting will be about whether “creative writing” can be–or maybe even should be–taught.”

    I’d like to see the public education establishment teach basic English grammar and useage. It’s a national shame that the King’s English has been allowed to deteriorate as it has over the last couple of generations.

  8. Macky Myers Says:

    Wikipedia is always a great place to start. One may validate sources quite easily thereafter to verify accuracy. I notice my Chinese colleagues utilize Wikipedia quite often, too.

    After being hoodwinked into buying a set of encyclopedias when I was young and quite naive to discover the books were basically outdated in three years, I find contributing to Wikipedia a way of quiet revenge.

  9. Tammy Stephens Says:

    Raymond,
    Impressive!

  10. Frank B Maness,Jr. Says:

    I’m going to Wikipedia to see what is said about ” Hoodwinked “! Macky I’ve been there more than once and didn’t even leave home!!

  11. Dea Says:

    The only problem I have with Wikipedia is that I get sidetracked by the links to other pages related to the one I am reading. I can end up wasting two or three hours just browsing and picking up facts that I can really only use in trivia games. 🙂

  12. Raymond Rundus Says:

    I’ll make a perhaps trivial comment and perhaps later offer some more about my thinking on the value of “Wikipedia.”

    The “trivial pursuit”: I rather like to see the “emoticons” that such regular contributors like Tammy S. and Dea use to open or close their messages. Because: well, Dea’s little yellow smiler (see above) just now kind of made me grin also (but not snicker).
    For what it’s worth: female contributors seem to use them much more often than do us “Men Are from Mars” types. Do you have an explanation for this?
    And how do I find more of such to access?
    RJR

Leave a Reply

