“Fun With English”: File Found!

How could it hide for so long?  This morning while looking in my large plastic tub of a box for another file,  up popped my “Fun With English” file which had been AWOL for several months.  (I should have kept it together with my “Metalinguistics” folder p’raps.)

What I wanted from it was the “Tom Swiftly” collection that I had concocted sometime in 1998.  I had been running these in groups of ten sentences on my “Blog” but had come to believe that ten of these had never seen the light of the blogosphere.  And now,  if they had,  my notations are incomplete.  Furthermore,  I doubt any of us still living and sentient remember much about the earlier sets.  I think I ran the last ten on Independence Day 2008 but skipped over the previous ten.

SO:  here are sentences 21-30 with the adverbs missing.  Following will be the list of ten adverbs in random order.  Your task, if you decide to accept it,  is to match the sentence number with the letter of the best choice so as to demonstrate that,  yes indeed,  you do have a funny/punny bone.   Here goes:

21.  “You can have your ‘Black Beauty,’  but I’ll never get tired of watching ‘National Velvet,’  said Tom __________ .

22.  “Don’t tell me we’ve run out of Jim Beam again!”  exclaimed Tom ______________.

23.  “Give me that other banana, or I’ll poke your eye out,” Tom threatened ________________.

24.  “Sorry!  It must have been that last bowl of chili,” apologized Tom ______________.

25.  “Lucky you’re a girl, or it’d be ‘POW!’ right in the kisser!”  asserted Tom __________.

26.  “You know blessed well that apple beats cherry seven days a week,”  said Tom ________________.

27.  “I’m afraid it’s my pinky–or maybe my pointer that was hit–or even my ring finger,”  explained Tom ________________________.

28.  “If we’re going camping in the Rockies,  I think we’re going to need some new gear,”  suggested Tom ________________.

29.  “Dad, when you gonna gas up?  I can’t wait forever,”  complained Tom ____________.

30.  “Lucille, you’re singing off-key again,”  said Tom _________________.

And here are the possible adverb choices:   A. tentatively   B. piously C. flatly    D. hoarsely E. indistinctly F. disjointedly G. piouslyH.unabashedlyI.pointedly

Match ’em up!

RJR

14 Responses to ““Fun With English”: File Found!”

  1. fayettenam hoe Says:

    to bend the truth to fit other peoples needs, better than that, create Lies-that fill their void- the void of nievness– no patina of the virtue inside, ————–whithin yesterday, not many can see, yesterday becomes their void, and the lies bcome easier to dijest

  2. fayettenam hoe Says:

    so hard to grow old inside an empty box, so willing to explode

  3. fayettenam hoe Says:

    The Hoe’s wife : (Yes this is his wife, I just haven’t set up my own account.) I’m writing to excuse my husband’s poor spelling since I can’t seem to get him to use our dictionary. You must admit though he definately has a unique train of thought and besides, he says a dictionary would ruin his late nite express train of thought. English class, what little he saw of it, for him at Terry Sanford became a problem too since he was always late and then was sent to detention. I think the teacher didn’t seem to have any patience with a true individual, as he seemed to be too used to teaching to alot of “Barbie and Ken dolls” in his class. I’m sure you have a problem with my “sense” of english and grammar too but I will at times at least get out that dictionary. My husband and I are oppostites who attract that’s for certain…The Moon and The Scorpion in our watery home of doom, mood and gloom…..although, Peace&Love is nice too as Life goes on.

  4. Daryl Cobranchi Says:

    I think you’re one adverb short.

  5. Raymond Rundus Says:

    As has been said, and I’ve said it too: “Of all the things I’ve lost in my life, I miss my mind the most.”

    You’re a good man, Mr. Cobranchi. Appreciate your participation. William Blake: “Opposition is true friendship.” And Blake again, “Without contraries, there is no progression.”

    Let’s try this again (one of the adverbs was also, alas, repeated). Try this please:
    A. tentatively B. piously C. flatly D. hoarsely E. indistinctly F. disjointedly G. peevishly H. unabashedly I. pointedly J. dispiritedly

    Still can have some fun!

    RJR

  6. Tammy Stephens Says:

    21. Hoarsely
    25. Unabashedly
    27.pointedly
    28. Tentatively
    29. Peevishly
    30. Flatly

  7. Tammy Stephens Says:

    24. indistinctly

  8. Daryl Cobranchi Says:

    I was guessing J would have been “dryly.”

  9. Tammy Stephens Says:

    22.dispiritedly
    23.disjointedly
    26. piously

  10. Daryl Cobranchi Says:

    21. “You can have your ‘Black Beauty,’ but I’ll never get tired of watching ‘National Velvet,’ said Tom ____ hoarsely ______ .
    22. “Don’t tell me we’ve run out of Jim Beam again!” exclaimed Tom __ dispiritedly ____________.
    23. “Give me that other banana, or I’ll poke your eye out,” Tom threatened ___ pointedly _____________.
    24. “Sorry! It must have been that last bowl of chili,” apologized Tom ___ indistinctly ___________.
    25. “Lucky you’re a girl, or it’d be ‘POW!’ right in the kisser!” asserted Tom ___ unabashedly _______.
    26. “You know blessed well that apple beats cherry seven days a week,” said Tom ___ piously _____________.
    27. “I’m afraid it’s my pinky–or maybe my pointer that was hit–or even my ring finger,” explained Tom __ disjointedly ______________________.
    28. “If we’re going camping in the Rockies, I think we’re going to need some new gear,” suggested Tom ___ tentatively _____________.
    29. “Dad, when you gonna gas up? I can’t wait forever,” complained Tom ___ peevishly _________.
    30. “Lucille, you’re singing off-key again,” said Tom flatly

  11. Raymond Rundus Says:

    Great work, Tammy and Daryl.

    Now I’ll go back to my E-mail “Inbox” to find out what “prayerwarrior_52” had on her mind.

    Keep in touch!

    RJR

  12. Forest Crump Says:

    24. “Sorry! It must have been that last bowl of chili,” apologized Tom flatulently.

    29. “Dad, when you gonna gas up? I can’t wait forever,” complained Tom, just before his busted lip.

  13. prayerwarrior_52 Says:

    Actually, I was looking for my mind. You haven’t, by chance, seen it, have you? It doesn’t really matter if I’ve lost it, it will come home on it’s own.
    It’s only mind over matter.

    I don’t mind,
    and it doesn’t matter
    If I ramble a bit
    like a mad hatter.

    They say the mind
    is the first to go.
    I’ve misplaced mine,
    so I wouldn’t know.

    I think I must be
    on the wrong thread.
    Couldn’t help myself,
    It just popped in my head.

    Can’t help if I sound
    a little crazy.
    Been working all night,
    about to get lazy.

    I’m about to say
    to all good-night.
    If you see my mind
    send it home, alright?

  14. fayettenam hoe Says:

    others just keep getting away with it, who ????????????????????. don’t ask you allready know them. and they love your blindness, —–we remember, and we never forget

Leave a Reply

