Unto the Blender, Once Again!

            I’ve been wanting to contribute a few more observations and examples to the process of how “blend words” become part of our American English lexicon or at least provide a way to have a bit of fun at the expense of the less inventive.

Again, creating new words from two or more existing words often fills a gap in our vocabulary.  Here is an example that came to mind recently:  “metrosexual.”  I think it was coined at the same time a TV program (can’t immediately remember the clever title) dealt with how homosexual males could help heterosexual males be more stylish.  What was the title of the show?

Also some clever minds often derive some forbidden pleasures in lexicography by creating “sniglets.” That word itself was a creation of Rich Hall, who had a segment on “Laugh-In” a number of years ago titled “Rich Hall and Friends” that presented each program a”sniglet,”  a new blend word that fits a supposed need in the lexicon of the English language (I wrote about this quite a long time ago in a letter to Jim Pettit).  Here are a couple of examples that I recall from the TV show (Hall also published a collection or two of these, but they are hard to find, I think): (1) hozone layer–where lost socks end up  and (2) furnident: the impression made on carpeting by large furniture pieces.

Here are a few other clever ones from cyberspace:

1.  caterpallor (n):  the color you turn after finding half a worm in the fruit you are eating.

2. reintarnation (n): coming back to life as a hillbilly.

3.  sarchasm (n):  the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the person who doesn’t get it.

4.  Beezlebug (n):  Satan in the form of a mosquito which gets into your bedroom at three in the morning and cannot be cast out.

For a week or so now I’ve been ransacking my files to find a special collection of blend words that have to do with the offspring of two entirely different dog breeds.  These were quite amusing.  Here is one I recall:

Collapso (n.): the offspring of a Collie and a Lhasa Apso,  it can be folded up and stored in overhead bins on an airliner.

Be ready for a forthcoming announcement about the September Bloggers’ Breakfast!

RJR

12 Responses to “Unto the Blender, Once Again!”

  1. Daryl Cobranchi Says:

    “Queer Eye for the Straight Guy”

  2. Tammy Stephens Says:

    Well done!

  3. Macky Myers Says:

    On the serious side, I have always liked the words:

    *Oxbridge (Oxford with Cambridge)
    *chunnel (English channel and tunnel)

    On the not-so-serious side:

    *Chinglish (Chinese English posted all over Beijing since the Olympics)
    *NoBama (No Obama)
    *Fayetteghanistan (Fayetteville and Afghanistan)

  4. Frank B Maness,Jr. Says:

    What’s the word on the bloggers Breakfast?? Any changes! Please advice!!
    Macky! The Fayetteghanistan is catchy!! Hopemiller and Masseyhiller! may blend after all!! Hopemasseymillhill!!!

  5. Macky Myers Says:

    I’m a “Haymountaineer” myself! 🙂 (Haymount and mountain). One of my daughters was born in New Mexico, so I’ve sometimes referred to her as my “North Mexican.” (North Carolina and New Mexico). She argues that she most certainly is not! Her claim is that she’s a New Carolinian! (North Carolina and New Mexico!)

  6. Macky Myers Says:

    Just as amusing as blend are those slips of the tongue or mispronunciations such as:

    Chester Drawers (Chest of Drawers)
    Laura Norder (Law and Order)
    For all intensive purposes (For all intents and purposes)
    Spitting image (Spit and image)
    Take for granite (Take for granted)
    Upmost (Utmost)
    Pasted (Passed)

  7. Marshall Faircloth Says:

    Macky: I think ‘spitting image’ may have been ‘spirit and image’.

  8. AmandaBF Says:

    Raymond you knew the name of that show all along. Come on. Admit it. You probably pluck your eyebrows to go along with that fabulously trimmed beard.

  9. Raymond Rundus Says:

    Ah, AmandaBF, you don’t know how slippery the memory becomes after a few decades on this earth and amongst these fellow critters.

    But if you keep complimenting my good looks, I could become your BFF!

    As soon as I saw Daryl’s ID of the title of the program, I knew he had it nailed. And I must admit that I am a considerable admirer of the TLC series “What Not to Wear.” The hosts very seldom deal with anyone of my gender and certainly none of my antiquity, though I would have confidence in Clayton’s ability to spiff me up a great deal. . . .

    I also wish to commend Macky Myers for the malapropisms he provided. As a follow-up to that, I would observe that medical terms are frequently garbled or confused by patients or by their families and friends. We all, of course, would be aware of “Old Timers’ Disease” (report today suggested that 35 million folks worldwide are estimated to have dementia). When I first heard somebody in the Pembroke community mention that their father or mother “had sugar,” I was for a time nonplussed: until I realized that the relative was diabetic and thus had a high sugar reading from his or her blood.
    Radio talk show (how can a “talk” program be called a “show” ?) physician-host Dean Edell enjoyed mentioning medical malapropisms from time to time. I think his favorite was when a female patient told him she had been diagnosed with “fireballs of the Eucharist,” meaning (of course?) fibroids in her uterus. No wonder that treatment is often prescribed for the wrong or non-existent ailment.

    RJR

  10. Macky Myers Says:

    Marshall:

    As in the “Spirit of ’76?”

  11. Marshall Faircloth Says:

    Macky: I have no clue! I think it was a guess by someone who admitted that the real meaning may have been lost in antiquity.

    Perfesser: I grew up among country folks who were still on or no more than one generation off the farm. That colloquial speech style produced so many rich sayings and forms. “Got sugar” is certainly one of them.

    My family is famous for saying, “when________was dead” to refer to a time or event associated with “_______”‘s funeral.

    My grandmother’s sister was “Aunt Leaner”, not Aunt Lena. And grandpa’s cousin was “Mary Lizer” not “Mary Eliza Frye”.

  12. Frank B Maness,Jr. Says:

    Farm boys and their barn education is getting extinct as we speak! “On a car” instead of “in a car” is more county than country! It seems every county have (has) their own language!!

Leave a Reply

