Are You Ready to Bolt?

What an amazing athlete!  First he sets new world records at the Beijing Olympics last year in both the 100 and 200 meter dashes in remarkably easy fashion, it would seem.

Now in the World Games in Berlin,  he has broken both records once more.

And his playful, free-spirited approach to all this reminds us of another such amazing athlete,  Cassius Clay, now Muhammed Ali.

Usain (Saturday’s headline in the local newspaper called him “Insane Usain”) Bolt is from Jamaica,  a culture in which the English language is not perhaps totally mangled but is often rearranged a bit.

In Friday’s story, he is quoted by the AP as having said,  “I am on my way to being a legend . . . .  If Queen Elizabeth knighthooded me and I would get the title of Sir Usain,  that would be very nice.”

I am intrigued here particularly by the ease with which Mr. Bolt transforms a noun,  “knighthood,” into a verb.  We might correctly observe that “knighted” is the conventional verb usage.

However,  I rather enjoy (hearing at least) a noun translated into a verb when it is useful and easily done.  A good many years ago, for example,  “wastebasketed” was discussed in lexicographic services as perhaps a serviceable verb form. After all, is not the sentence “I wastebasketed it” perfectly understood and also much shorter than “I threw it into the wastebasket”?  The new usage by Mr. Bolt has less going for it.

RJR

6 Responses to “Are You Ready to Bolt?”

  1. Tammy Stephens Says:

    Raymond,
    Like we discussed before (yes, it’s wrong,lol!) I still think if…
    My husband is golfing, and he golfed, then he…
    golfs! 😆

  2. Lolly Says:

    Wastebasketed?!

    How about “I tossed it.” Done.

    I once had a boss who insisted on “calendaring” events and meetings. Drove me bananas.

  3. Raymond Rundus Says:

    Interesting responses. Thanks.

    I don’t follow the concerns about “I tossed it.” “Toss” is a well-established verb, is it not.

    Is “played golf” preferred over “golfed”? Yes, traditionally, I believe so. “Golf” was seen as the name of the game, not the activity involved in it. A similar point would be objections to such neologisms as “I footballed for a while today.” Or “I think we’ll basketball for a while this afternoon.” And so on.

    Here’s another illustration of a noun turned into a verb that seems to gaining momentum lately: “texted.” Is this a good thing?

    All the best.

    RJR

  4. Lolly Says:

    I expressed no concern over “tossed.” I offered it as a faster, more appropriate alternative to “wastebasketed.” (Ugh, I can’t even *type* that as a verb without getting the heebie-jeebies.)

  5. Tammy Stephens Says:

    Raymond,
    Tonight, I can say we soccered, lol! It all starts back today. 8)
    Yes, I think “texted”, is used quite often.

    RJR writes: This question is irrelevant to the present discussion. But it came to mind just now and so: I believe in today’s column, Bill Kirby wrote that the mayor of Hope Mills, by discrediting the choice made by the search panel (the present Police Chief of Fairmont was chosen) had “thrown the new police chief under the bus.”
    I have read and heard that phrase quite often. But how did it originate? And why do you think it continues to be used?

  6. Tammy Stephens Says:

    Raymond,
    “I believe in today’s column”
    I didn’t read it, guess I need to go back and do so.

    “why do you think it continues to be used?’
    Passed down, I guess. Some catchy phrases seem to stay.

Leave a Reply

